Toney, Maguire and Phillips receive call-ups; Liverpool’s Alexander-Arnold omitted

Gareth Southgate has included Brentford striker Ivan Toney in his 25-man England squad for this month’s Euro 2024 qualifiers against Italy and Ukraine.

Toney has been in great form this term but his selection will be divisive after he pleaded guilty to “many” charges relating to betting.

Aston Villa striker Ollie Watkins will feel hard done by that he has not been called up. He has six goals in his last seven Premier League games.

Brighton are not represented despite the form of Solly March and Lewis Dunk in recent months.

Southgate has instead opted to keep faith in Harry Maguire and Kalvin Phillips despite their lack of appearances for Man Utd and Man City respectively. The manager has left out Raheem Sterling, Trent Alexander-Arnold and Ben White though.

The full 25-man squad is below.

Goalkeepers: Jordan Pickford (Everton), Nick Pope (Newcastle United) and Aaron Ramsdale (Arsenal).

Defenders: Ben Chilwell (Chelsea), Eric Dier (Tottenham Hotspur), Marc Guehi (Crystal Palace), Reece James (Chelsea), Harry Magurie (Manchester United), Luke Shaw (Manchester United), John Stones (Manchester City), Kieran Trippier (Newcastle United) and Kyle Walker (Manchester City).

Midfielders: Jude Bellingham (Borussia Dortmund), Conor Gallagher (Chelsea), Jordan Henderson (Liverpool), James Maddison (Leicester City), Mason Mount (Chelsea), Kalvin Phillips (Manchester City) and Declan Rice (West Ham United).

Forwards: Phil Foden (Manchester City), Jack Grealish (Manchester City), Harry Kane (Tottenham Hotspur), Marcus Rashford (Manchester United), Bukayo Saka (Arsenal) and Ivan Toney (Brentford).

More to follow…

READ MORE: Journalist doubles down on baffling Liverpool claim, TAA penny drops and bizarre Bellingham question asked


Source link

Leave a Reply