Raphael Varane, William Saliba two of five Premier League stars in France World Cup squad

Manchester United defender Raphael Varane has survived an injury scare to be named in Didier Deschamps’ France squad for the 2022 World Cup.

12 players who were in Russia to help Les Bleus win the tournament in 2018 have not been included.

N’Golo Kante, Paul Pogba, and Corentin Tolisso have missed out through injury.

Meanwhile, Thomas Lemar, Blaise Matuidi, Benjamin Mendy, Steven Nzonzi, Adil Rami, Djibril Sidibe, Samuel Umtiti, and Florian Thauvin have all failed to earn a call-up after lifting the trophy four years ago.

Varane injured his hamstring in a Premier League match against Chelsea last month but has been deemed fit enough to be named in the squad.

Deschamps said: “To be totally honest, this has not been the easiest selection.

“It is the same for all the other national team managers. Players recovering from injury, players who got injured last night, who could get injured tonight.”

There are five Premier League players in the squad; two goalkeepers and three defenders.

Varane is joined by Arsenal’s William Saliba, Liverpool’s Ibrahima Konate, West Ham United’s Alphonse Areola and Tottenham Hotspur’s Hugo Lloris – who is France captain.

The most notable omission from the squad is Real Madrid left-back Ferland Mendy – who helped Los Blancos win the Champions League and La Liga last season.

There are five Premier League players in the squad, six La Liga, six Ligue 1, five Bundesliga and three from Serie A.

There is not a natural right-wing-back in the squad, indicating that Deschamps will abandon the 3-4-1-2 he used in Euro 2020 and revert to the 4-2-3-1 he won the 2018 World Cup with.

Full squad:

Goalkeepers: Hugo Lloris (Tottenham Hotspur), Alphonse Areola (West Ham), Steve Mandanda (Rennes).

Defenders: Benjamin Pavard (Bayern Munich), Jules Koundé (Barcelona), Raphaël Varane (Manchester United), Presnel Kimpembe (PSG), William Saliba (Arsenal), Lucas Hernandez (Bayern Munich), Théo Hernandez (Milan), Ibrahima Konaté (Liverpool), Dayot Upamecano (Bayern Munich).

Midfielders: Adrien Rabiot (Juventus), Aurélien Tchouaméni (Real Madrid), Youssouf Fofana (Monaco), Mattéo Guendouzi (Marseille), Jordan Veretout (Marseille), Eduardo Camavinga (Real Madrid)

Attackers: Ousmane Dembélé (Barcelona), Kylian Mbappé (Paris Saint-Germain), Karim Benzema (Real Madrid), Olivier Giroud (Milan), Antoine Griezmann (Atlético Madrid), Christopher Nkunku (RB Leipzig).

READ NOW: England have had worst World Cup preparation of any major tournament this century

Source link

Leave a Reply